Needing IDs for everything in the government

Does Attorney Eric Holder, head of the Department of Justice, foe of voter identification law requirements that Bruce Johnson discusses, know about other, stricter identification requirements saturating the government departments he supervises? 

Do you want to tour the storied, historic now non sequestered and open White House itself on your once in a lifetime trip to the nation's capital? 

Well, you're going to need an id for that according to the White House site itself, even if you're over 18 and not on your class spring trip but the supervising teacher for said trip.

Forms of Identification

All guests 18 years of age or older will be required to present a valid, government-issued photo identification (detailed below). All foreign nationals must present their passport. All other forms of foreign identification will not be accepted.

All information submitted (e.g. name, date of birth, city, etc.) must exactly match the government-issued photo ID you will present when arriving at the White House.

The following forms of photo ID are acceptable for presentation to USSS upon entry to the White House complex:

  • Valid government-issued United States identification card (e.g. drivers license, military ID, etc.)
  • Valid United States or other official government-issued passports

No other forms of identification will be accepted; photocopies, expired IDs, or other transmissions of these documents are NOT valid.

And if you are one of the millions of Americans who do not live within driving distance of Washington, DC and must fly there,?  If so, the ever vigilant, ever discriminatory Transportation Security Administration requires a "valid photo id" for those 18 and older. 

Adult passengers (18 and over) are required to show a valid U.S. federal or state-issued photo ID in order to be allowed to go through the checkpoint and onto their flight.

We understand passengers occasionally arrive at the airport without an ID, due to lost items or inadvertently leaving them at home. Not having an ID does not necessarily mean a passenger won't be allowed to fly. If passengers are willing to provide additional information, we have other means of substantiating someone's identity, like using publicly available databases.

Passengers who are cleared through this process may be subject to additional screening. Passengers whose identity cannot be verified by TSA may not be allowed to enter the screening checkpoint or onto an airplane. (snip)
This standardization of the list of accepted documents better aligns TSA with other DHS components, including Customs and Border Protection, and REAL ID benchmarks.

And just what is the Department of Homeland Security's  REAL ID?


Will Federal agencies accept my driver's license?

All states that have not yet met the requirements of the REAL ID Act will receive temporary deferments, meaning Federal agencies may continue to accept driver's licenses and identification cards issued by all states. As of September 1, 2013, DHS has determined that the following states have met the requirements: AL, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, HI, IA, IN, KS, MD, NE, OH, SD, TN, UT, VT, WI, WV, WY

What is REAL ID?

REAL ID is a coordinated effort by the states and the Federal government to improve the reliability and accuracy of state-issued identification documents, which should reduce fraud and deter acts of terrorism.  The REAL ID Act of 2005 enacts a recommendation of the 9/11 Commission report urging the Federal government to "set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses."  It establishes minimum requirements for the production and issuance of state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards and authorizes grants to assist states in implementing the requirements. 

The Act also prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for official uses driver's licenses and identity cards from states unless the Department of Homeland Security determines that the state meets the requirements.  Official uses are defined as accessing Federal facilities, entering nuclear power plants, and boarding federally-regulated commercial aircraft. 

Which states, territories, and tribes are included?

The REAL ID Act covers 56 jurisdictions, including the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Territories of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Tribal jurisdictions for Native Americans and the native peoples of Alaska and Hawaii are not covered by the REAL ID Act.

If Native Americans are not covered by the REAL ID Act, how can they vote?  Discrimination! 

And how could they have entered the 2012 Democratic National Convention which required, yep, valid identification. 

From the convention website:

All pickup persons must have a state-issued ID that matches the name submitted below.

Please complete the following form regarding your organization's primary contact information and the authorized designee(s) to whom your 2012 Democratic National Convention credentials can be issued.

Authorized Pickup

Even those working and residing needed an approved ID proving that they had a right to be in the area.


Pedestrians walking to their home or business that falls into a restricted area will be required to provide identification when the road is closed. Passenger (as opposed to commercial) vehicles attempting to enter streets with restricted vehicle access must go through a vehicle checkpoint.

What type of identification is required? A standard issued government ID is requested.

Attorney General Holder is on the government's case against the government.