McConnell, Boehner, name debt committee members

Not that it matters that much, but you can't tell the actors in this Kubuki play without a Playbill. Politico: Top Republican congressional leaders have appointed six conservatives to the "super committee" that is charged with reducing the deficit by $1.5 trillion over the next decade. Speaker John Boehner has appointed Ways and Means Chairman Dave Camp (R-Mich.), Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (R-Mich.) and Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas) as the House GOP members of the panel. Hensarling will be co-chairman of the committee. Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell also announced Wednesday the Senate Republican members: Jon Kyl of Arizona, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania and Rob Portman of Ohio. As it stands, every Republican member of the deficit reduction committee has signed tax activist Grover Norquist's pledge not to raise taxes, making it increasingly unlikely that any real tax revenues will be on the table as the committee tries to meet a...(Read Full Post)